Friday, October 3, 2008

Where is my bailout?

This $700 BILLION bailout has me infuriated.

Maybe that's because I'm one of the millions of Americans who have nothing to lose.

I don't own a house. Or have a 401K or any other pension plan to speak of. Even if I was offered one, I couldn't afford it. Not with income taxes eating a quarter of my salary and the cost of commuting 80-miles roundtrip daily taking a third of the remainder. I'm still debating whether I can afford the health insurance plan offered by my company. It costs almost a week's salary.

I understand that if the financial market crashes times will get tough for rich people and whatever is left of the middle class. But I'm on the other side of the divide now. And it's bleak.

I have an 11-year old car and a scrappy mutt missing a few teeth. I live in Section-8 housing. I get stopped in the morning by elderly people with no place to go, with no savings, who carry their dead dog's ashes in boxes buried in their purses. Old ladies who mash their poop with sticks because the toilets in our building don't flush properly.

This bailout isn't going to save me from the pregnant squirrels running rampant in the parking lot because old ladies with doggie ashes in their purses are feeding them peanuts every morning.

It's not going to cut my taxes. It's not going to make healthcare and a 401K things that are in my grasp. It isn't going to help me pay for gas or get a job paying in the upper $20s. Yeah, I said $20s. Upper. As in, I'm in the lower. I'm making less than HALF of my former salary, which I couldn't cut it on before. I'm about to start stocking up on spam and soup, and I'm talking about the off-brands.

So, rich people will be able to get loans for their SUVs. Their pensions will be secure. Houses will sell so people can keep flipping them and driving up the prices.

And if I'm lucky, after paying their tab, I'll still be able to afford to sit in Section-8 and wonder why the boom missed me.